Thurrock is a unitary authority area with borough status in Essex. The local authority is Thurrock Council.

Thurrock’s population is 172,500* and is situated on the north side of the Thames approximately 35 minutes drive from London. There is 17 miles of riverside from Purfleet to Corringham.

There are 20 wards (areas) of Thurrock and currently 49 local Councillors representing these wards.

Thurrock heritage is diverse and has changed immensely. Find out more about Thurrock below.

Thurrock Local History Society
Thurrock Coat of Arms
British History Online